Electronic Tools for Travel Medicine

Select Databases
Electronic Books
Electronic Journals
University Resources
Comment on Travel Toolkit
Disclaimer

Select Databases

CDC Wonder

  • Single point of access to CDC reports, guidelines, and numeric public health data on morbidity and mortality from communicable diseases

Cochrane Library

  • High-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare policy makers from seven databases
  • Includes Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE), Health Technology Assessment (HTA) Database and NHS Economic Evaluation Database (NHSEED) on Cochrane.

Dynamed

  • Point-of-care evidence-based practice (EBP) resource
  • Available as a web-based product and for handheld devices
  • Covers over 1,800 medical topics, including drug topics
  • Includes Travel Medicine Summary with references to reviews and guidelines

eMedicine's Wilderness and Travel Medicine (free version from Internet)

  • Collection of monographs covering 65 professional specialties and three consumer areas
  • Includes streaming video, audio, and color images suitable for clinical and teaching purposes
  • Includes Continuing Medical Education (CME) Case of the Week

GIDEON-the Global Infectious Disease & Epidemiology Network

  • Access only via your individual subscription
  • Free 15 day trial
  • Evidence-based online product, aids clinicians in diagnosing patients with an infectious disease
  • World-wide epidemiology profiles of infectious diseases
    • Disease profiles include bioterrorism, drug therapy, and a microbiology information

Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database

  • Evidence-based natural medicine therapies from United States and Canada
  • Safety and evidence-based ratings for products and interaction checker
  • See HerbaLinks from the University of Iowa College of Pharmacy to locate other alternative therapy websites

POPLINE  

  • Policies on reproductive health
  • $15 charge per document ordered for those in non-developing countries

PubMed 

  • This PubMed link includes access to UMDNJ Libraries E-Journal articles where available for those in the UMDNJ Community.
  • PubMed versus MEDLINE--What is the difference?