Physical Therapy Toolkit
Physical Therapy Databases
Academic Search Premier Covers a wide range of academic areas including arts, business, communication, education, humanities, language and linguistics, literature, sciences, social sciences, technology and women's studies. Full text is provided for more than 2,330 journals dating back to 1990. Academic Search Premier allows you to limit search results to scholarly or peer-reviewed journals.
CINAHL with Full Text (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature) CINAHL with Full Text provides indexing for 2,737 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, including articles published in virtually all English-language nursing journals, publications from the American Nurses' Association and the National League for Nursing, and journals from 17 allied health disciplines. CINAHL with Full Text also contains searchable cited references for more than 1,150 journals and provides full text for 329 journals, plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. The database also includes information on consumer health, health services librarianship, chiropractic, and health services administration literature. The database contains more than 1,000,000 records dating back to 1982, with approximately 7,000 records added monthly.
Cochrane Library The Cochrane Library contains high quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. It includes reliable evidence from Cochrane and other systematic reviews, clinical trials, and more. Cochrane reviews bring you the combined results of the world's best medical research studies, and are recognized as the gold standard in evidence-based health care.
Health Reference Center A collection of general interest health and fitness magazines, medical and professional periodicals, reference books and pamphlets. Includes some full-text.
MEDLINE Medline is a bibliographic database containing all areas of medicine, including dentistry and nursing. Medline corresponds to the print indexes: Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing Index. The Medline database includes thousands of records with substantial abstracts. The litany of specific fields, subjects, and topics includes clinical medicine, nutrition, dentistry, pathology, education, psychiatry, experimental medicine, toxicology, health services administration, veterinary medicine and nursing. The Medline database has over 15,000,000 records from 9,584 sources. Coverage from 1965 to the present.
PEDro The Physiotherapy Evidence Database or "PEDro" is a free, Web-based database that contains citations to over 5500 randomized controlled trials, systematic reviews, and evidence-based clinical practice guidelines relevant to physiotherapy. Where possible, abstracts and/or links to full-text documents are provided. PEDro is maintained by the Centre for Evidence-Based Physiotherapy at the University of Sydney, Australia.
PubMed The PubMed link above possesses a different web address than the PubMed you've no doubt used as a member of the public. This PubMed link allows you to perform your PubMed search as usual, but view a UMDNJ icon denoting full-text access to UMDNJ journal holdings when available.
PsycINFO PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains more than 2 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. Ninety-seven percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. Subjects include the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. Journal coverage, spanning 1887-present, includes international material selected from nearly 2,000 periodicals in over 25 languages. Current chapter and book coverage includes worldwide English-language material published from 1987 to the present. Over 55,000 references are added annually through regular updates.
REHABDATA REHABDATA, produced by the National Rehabilitation Information Center, is the leading literature database on disability and rehabilitation. The database describes over 65,000 documents covering physical, mental, and psychiatric disabilities, independent living, vocational rehabilitation, special education, assistive technology, law, employment, and other issues as they relate to people with disabilities. The collection span 1956 to the present
