Electronic Tools for Health Policy
Select Databases
Electronic Books
Electronic Journals
University Resources
Internet Resources
Comment on Health Policy Toolkit
Select Databases
Academic Search Premier (EBSCO Host database retrieval system)
- Covers a wide range of academic areas including arts, business, communication, education, humanities, language and linguistics, literature, sciences, social sciences, technology and women's studies
- Full text for more than 2,330 journals dating back to 1990
- Can limit search results to refereed or peer-reviewed journals
- Request a free trial of this resource.
- Includes alternative medicine articles from international, peer-reviewed and professional journals, magazines, reports, proceedings, and newsletters.
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) (EBSCO Host database retrieval system)
- Can limit search results to refereed or peer-reviewed journals
- High-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare policy makers from seven databases
- Includes Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE), Health Technology Assessment (HTA) Database and NHS Economic Evaluation Database (NHSEED) on Cochrane.
- Preceding three databases are also accessible for free via Centre for Reviews and Dissemination
Dissertations & Theses Express
- Comprehensive collection of more than 2.3 million doctoral dissertations and master's theses, covering graduate research from 1861 to the present.
- There is a fee for ordering dissertations and theses.
Medline (OvidSP database retrieval system)
- PubMed versus MEDLINE--What is the difference?
National Library of Medicine (NLM) Gateway
- Includes meeting abstracts on health policy
- Includes policies on reproductive health
- $15 charge per document ordered for those in non-developing countries.
Proquest Social Science Journals
- Access to more than 160 key journals for the study of social sciences
- Subjects include anthropology, community health and medical care, family studies, gender studies, international relations, minority studies, psychiatry, and social work
- Can limit search results to refereed and peer–reviewed articles
- Can narrow within search result sets by adding keywords
- This PubMed link includes access to UMDNJ Libraries E-Journal articles where available for those in the UMDNJ Community.
- PubMed versus MEDLINE--What is the difference?
- Free, scientific search engine assists in locating grey literature--articles and web pages on health policy topics
- Can click on provided key terms to narrow within a result set
- Contains Science Citation Index Expanded and the Social Sciences Citation Index
- Covers over 6,000 U.S. and international, multidisciplinary journals
- Features include tools for tracking citations in the published literature, Cited Reference Search, and a related product Journal Citation Reports
- Related Records locates articles that have cited references in common; and Times Cited provides a list of articles that cite a source article.
- Also, try Journal Citation Reports (Additional Resources tab in Web of Science) to determine top social science health policy journals.
